Firefly

Ok, so todays subject is the Sci-Fi show Firefly.

Now, before you all start hacking my blog, scour my contact info and plan my bloody, painful death, there are two things I should explain.

First of all, I like the show! I admit, it’s not my favourite, being more of a fan of Stargate SG-1, but I have nothing against Firefly at all. The characters are rounded and well written, the writing is solid and the show mixes two things I like a lot, namely Science Fiction and old west weaponry.

Secondly, and perhaps more importantly, I’m not going to nitpick the show itself. As far as I can tell, there are no major question marks for the show itself, in regards to logic.

No, I have only two issues when it comes to Firefly, neither of which have anything to do with writing.

My first issue is that, for years now, I’ve heard discussions and arguing, when it comes to the shows cancellation, with people asking to bring the show back.

To them I say this.

Stop it. Seriously, just stop it. Stop trying to bring the show back.

And don’t get me wrong. I get it. The show was cancelled. It wasn’t fair, it wasn’t a good decision and it robbed us of an intruiging and well made story. I completely understand why people are upset about it.

But you know what? It’s been 13 years since the show was cancelled. Let it go. The cancellation was a travesty, but it’s too late to do anything about it now.

You don’t believe me? Here’s a little experiment. If you’re one of the people demanding they bring it back, let’s suppose that you got your wish. Let’s say that tomorrow, they made the decision to finally continue the show.

But then, how do you deal with the fact that so much time has passed?

There are of course many answers to that, but I don’t think any of them is very attractive. You could ignore the time difference and just pick it up where the show ended. But it’s going to be pretty obvious the actors are suddenly much older. It’s going to be a constant elephant in the room.

I suppose you could make it animated, but then you’d go from live action first season to animated second season, which obviously doesn’t work.

You could reboot it, but animated or not, that would just invalidate season one, and people would be angry.

Of course, there’s the option to set it ten years later, but seeing as people want the show back because so many storylines were left unfinished, that means you’d need to have those resolved in the interrim, meaning you may as well have rebooted the show.

However you look at this, bringing back the tv-show isn’t an option anymore, so just let it go. Let it rest in peace.

Now, my second issue when it comes to Firefly can be summed up thusly:

Why is the show named Firefly?

Don’t get me wrong. As names go, it’s a pretty nice one. But in regards to the show itself, that name makes no sense at all.

You know what the name is referring to?

The model of ship they’re flying.

In other words, naming this show Firefly is like calling the original Star Wars trilogy Corellian YT-1300 IV-VI, or calling Knight Rider Trans Am. Say what you want about the movie Serenity, but at least that name makes sense, since that’s the name of the ship!

Not to mention the theme to the show is called “Ballad to Serenity“!

I mean, look at Joss Whedon’s other works.

Angel: named after the main character.
Buffy: named after the main character.
The Avengers: named after the group of main character.

Next to that, the name Firefly is, if you pardon my plain speaking, stupid!

But then, I suppose that might explain something about the shows premature cancellation…

So let that be a lesson for you. If you’re making a show, and want it to have a long and succesful life, name it after an immortal celestial being or a woman in her early 20’s, and NOT after an insect that will be dead in two months…

2 thoughts on “Firefly

  1. I’m going to scour your contact info and bring you to justice! HOW DARE YOU SAY WE SHOULDN’T KEEP TRYING TO BRING FIREFLY BACK?

  2. The window has passed, Firefly can’t come back. The movie tied up most of the loose ends and then you have the comics. Bringing back Firefly could never lead up to the hype or replace that.

Leave a Reply

