Doctor Who

Well, the time has come to write about Doctor Who. Sure, I’ve talked about it briefly in a sort-of entry in “Why The Fans Are Wrong”, but now we’ll discuss things about the show in earnest.

You see, while I’m a fan of Doctor Who, I am not living in the delusion that it’s absolutely flawless. So, to kick off our forray into Doctor Who, let’s talk a little about Jack Harkness.

I don’t know about you, but I find Jack Harkness a bit disturbing.

Now, I know what you think. I’m objecting to his sexuality and I should be more openminded about his lifestyle.

The thing is, though, I’ve no problem with his sexuality. Hell, I’m not exactly sure what his sexuality is, so it’s a bit tricky for me to object to it, even if I wanted to.

No, my issue with Jack Harkness, my reason for finding him slightly uncomfortable to watch, is based on one scene, in one episode.

In the episode “Bad Wolf”, the Doctor, Rose Tyler and Jack Harkness are abducted from the TARDiS by an unknown enemy to a space-station/satellite broadcasting television shows like Big Brother, The Weakest Link and similar television to the dullwitted people populating the Earth.

It’s a good thing I’m not reviewing the episode itself, because if I did, I would point out how that sounds like the writers sitting around thinking of what to write about, couldn’t come up with something original and decided “What if we do Big Brother… IN SPACE?”.

It has a slight “written during a coffee break five minutes before deadline” feeling to it.

Luckily, I’m not here to review the episode. So let’s get back to the issue at hand.

So, Jack is transported to “What not to wear OF THE FUTURE”, where he has to face off against two emotionless monsters programmed to condescendingly question his fashion sense, playing a pair of robots.

Among their arsenal, they keep a machine called the “Defabricator”, the function of which is to remove (and in the process destroy) your clothes. Why? Because just taking the clothes off and putting them on a chair would be time consuming and boring, I suppose…

Anyway, all is well and good, until Jack finds out that not only will they change his wardrobe, but also do horrible things to his body, including but not limited to taking his face off and rearranging his limbs.

Now, how does he escape this tricky situation? Does the Doctor crash the TARDiS through the ceiling? Does Rose smash the robots with a mannequin arm? Does some former constestant with five arms, seven legs and a Kashmir muumuu barge in and attacks the androids for making sure he’ll never play the violin again?

Of course not! Don’t be silly.

No, Jack just pulls an escape plan out of his ass.

Now, why do I find Jack Harkness creepy? Because, you see, I’m not speaking figuratively.

To escape the danger, Jack pulls a compact laser pistol out of his backside and blows the heads off of the two robots.

Now, maybe this is just me, but if I had a gun that could completely destroy something twice the size of a watermelon with one shot, putting it up my ass would be very low on my list of answers to the question “Where should I put this?”.

And while that would be pretty bad in itself, one could make the argument that he was naked and had nowhere else to hide it.

That is, if you ignore the part where he didn’t know that he would become naked. He had no idea what a Defabricator was, so there was no reason or time for him to think “sticking this up my ass is the only option”.

Which means he must have had the gun in his ass before the abduction.

Oh, and a small side note. Here’s the gun in question.

Jack woke up one morning, looked at this JAGGED PIECE OF WEAPONRY and said to himself “Where should I hide this”.

He didn’t put it in a hidden pocket in his greatcoat, not in a decorative novelty belt buckle or a secret compartment in his boot.

No, the logical answer to that question, he decided, was “where the sun doesn’t shine”.

Now, there are other examples in movies and television where people have hidden unusual things in their colons.

In Pulp Fiction, it was a wristwatch. In Pirates of The Caribbean: At World End, Elizabeth Swann hid a big flintlock pistol in an unspecified body-cavity, and you could probably make a long and very comprehensive list of all the cop shows where someone smuggles drugs by way of their ass.

Thing is, these cases are all equally unsavory, but unlike the case of Jack Harkness, they were NECESSARRY! They were to avoid a real and present danger.

Jack didn’t hide the gun to smuggle it into a dangerous area. He didn’t hide it to keep it from falling into the hands of captors.

He put it up his ass, on the OFF CHANCE HE ENDED UP NAKED!

Now, that says to me that, in his mind, being naked in a dangerous situation is a very real prospect. And seeing as the concept of a machine that removes your clothes was seemingly unknown to him, that means he’s likely to be naked by his own volition.

Here’s the thing. If you’re having sex with so many people in so many situations that you need to carry a loaded firearm INSIDE YOUR PERSON at all times, we’re not dealing with “light, humorous promiscuity”. We’re dealing with severe nymphomania. Either you’re having sex with people in situations you really shouldn’t be having sex in, OR you’re sleeping with people likely to attack and/or kill you.

I admit, I’m not an expert on this, but I like to think people tend to separate “People who I should fuck” and “People who are likely to kill me”.

And then there’s the added implication this action suggests about Jack Harkness.

See, the abduction, we’re told, took place soon after the events of the previous episode “Boom Town”.

That means the chances are pretty high that during that entire episode, Jack Harkness had the gun up his ass!

Which suggests to me this is not an uncommon practise for him.

EVERY TIME you see him from then on, be it in episode before or after that, you’re going to think “He’s probably got a gun up his ass right now”.

Not because of anything to do with sexuality, or a promiscuous lifestyle, but because he has shown it’s a very real possibility!

All of these reasons, I think you’ll find, should be enough to justify me finding Jack Harkness slightly disconcerting.

Now, like I said before, I like Doctor Who. Don’t mistake my questioning this one scene as a reason for me to dislike the show or the people involved in making it.

I’m just pointing out that someone, at some point, while writing an episode of Doctor Who, one of the most popular TV-Shows in human history, actually wrote out the words “Jack Harkness pulls a gun out of his ass”.

Not only that, but they SUBMITTED it, someone read it, OK’d it, and the person who wrote it GOT PAID TO WRITE IT!

Then again, I suppose I should not be that surprised…

After all, as the saying goes

Truth is stranger than fiction.

6 thoughts on “Doctor Who

  1. Okay. But consider this, it could have been in a housing, so less jagged and maybe he only did that because the Doctor showed up, which usually means something bad’s about to happen.

    Maybe he’s completely normal most of the time – There’s a real danger whenever the Doctor is around is all

    • Firstly: we’re never shown a housing for it, and if there was one, there would certainly be more effort extracting the pistol from the housing. Instead, he just reaches back and retrieves it.

      Secondly, the issue isn’t the hiding of the gun. It’s that he decided the most logical place to put a dangerous and highly destructive piece of weaponry was in his ass, instead of the many completely sensible alternative hiding places.

      • The housing is, fairly obviously, the solution to both of these problems. A sufficiently smooth and safe housing would make it not all that hard for him to extract the weapon (and let’#s face it, he’s a space age pirate, he’d have done this a lot) and reduce the inherent danger in having shoved it up there

      • The issue isn’t whether or not he stuck a gun up his ass in comfort and/or safety. The main issue I have is that out of all the options he had, this was the option he decided was the best. The fact that he would have to be naked in order this plan to work, and that it was not done out of necessity but as a preventative meassure suggests a mentality and overall approach to life that I personally consider a bit disturbing.

  2. Assuming the theory about Jack becoming the Face of Boe is correct perhaps this explains why he doesn’t have a body… At some point the ass gun misfired.

Leave a Reply

