In Memoriam: Christopher Lee

Ladies and Gentlemen.

In light of recent even, I would like to take this opportunity to say a few words about the late, great Christopher Lee.

If you are here to see me nitpick his movies or his performance, or make some joke on his expense, you will be disappointed.

The first time I ever saw Christopher Lee perform was in the movie Mio Min Mio, known in english as “Mio in the Land of Faraway”, where he played the antagonist Kato.

Since then, I have had the pleasure of seeing him in several great performances, and I have enjoyed them all.

Now, while I never had the pleasure of meeting Christopher Lee, I don’t think I am unfair when I say he was one of the most impressing men of our age. He was a truly great man.

To thousands, he was one of the last true icons of hammer horror, on par with Peter Cushing, Vincent Price, Bela Lugosi and Boris Karloff.

Others will remember him as Fransisco Scaramanga from “The Man with the Golden Gun”.

To millions more, he will be forever remembered as Saruman in “The Lord of the Rings”.

What will I remember him as?

I don’t think I could pick any one role and put it over another, because it doesn’t matter what role he played. Be it a wizard in a multimillion dollar epic, or a cameo in Sleepy Hollow.

No matter who he played, he always gave a memorable and incredible performance.

So I won’t remember him for a role he played.

To me, Christopher Lee’s death isn’t the death of an actor.

It’s marks the end of one of the few men you honestly, with no hint of irony, sarcasm or hyperbole, can describe as a true legend.

1922-2015

Rest in peace, Christopher Lee

Thank you for everything.

Leave a Reply

